Mikulov - bounty of nature and spirit of tolerance


Embraced the sun on the southern slope of the Pavlov Hills, climbing up the middle rows of vines and lush greenery of South Moravia, lies the ancient crossroads of cultures, a city of wine and rare historical monuments. Rocks were white with silver cliffs, diverse flora and fauna unique species adorns one of the architectural pearl of Moravia, spaced around the massive castle of Mikulov. Holy Hill City under the limestone cliffs of Castle Hill, castle and Goat Turold will seduce you with captivating charm of medieval mosaics, the city imprinted powerful noble families Ditrichstein and Liechtenstein. Tolerant nobility and strategic location of the town brought in the 16th century, to Mikulov wine excellent craftsmen and persecuted sect Habans and enterprising Jewish merchants. Mikulov was the largest Jewish community in Moravia and the city was until the mid 19th century administrative and spiritual center of Moravian Jews, based rabbi. The core of Mikulov is an urban conservation area.

Location of the city, nature and spirit of generosity, tolerance and stood behind the dynamic development of the Mikulov wine. In 1526 received the first town of Mikulov in Moravia Habana and their arrival prompted the planting of new vineyards that stretched to the Holy Hill, and Klentnice Bavorům. Renown wine and testifies in Mikulov horenský regulations in 1586, who despite their similarity to the nearby law horenským Falkenstein preserve the independence process. Horenským supreme judge in the Mikulov estate, secular lords, public reading horenského law was ordered once a year on the feast of St. Lawrence. Proper and timely training vineyards ensure regular inspections perkmistr, carelessly cultivated fields were marked with a wooden cross and the owner fined. Perkmistr also settled disputes between vincúrem and winemaker as well as compliance with the prohibition of work on Saturday afternoons, Sundays and public holidays. Horenský order not only to punish theft of grapes, but the Pale vláčením vineyard was punished those who in revenge destroyed the young shoots of the vine. In the 18th century, when it is mentioned as the Mikulov wine center of Moravia, is also building a large cellars. In 1850 the district was created in an alliance for agriculture and wineries and vineyards has reached 352 hectares. Today's 440 hectares of vineyards are spread over the twelve vineyard tracts mainly on limestone rocks around the city. Centuries-old tradition is especially proud of the track under the Holy Hill, Gallows Hill, Under Turold, Aluminium, Marian Hill, Red Hill, Over the pond.

The cellar alley


Wine exposure Regional Museum

Development of the winery is paid in Moravia exposure of the Regional Museum in Mikulov. Maps of traditional and contemporary work practices in the treatment of vineyards and wine production, exhibition includes work winemakers tools, containers and historical presses. Ten rare specimens richly decorated with carving as underlying machine dominates the Spectator dated dated the 1751st The tour is a Renaissance vault with giant barrel in 1643, which took 101 thousand liters of wine. The exhibition brings winemakers and festive moments - vintage and tasting wine.

Winding underground passages in the limestone rock
Mikulov cellars were built in several locations on the outskirts of the city, an important wine cellars and found a colony but a few steps from the historic city center.

The Pit

The towns and buildings Mikulov wine are nadsklepní houses. Unique underground work behind the baroque building from 1525 to Pit No 17 After a few steps down into the first room trojprostorového cellar, which now serves as a mill. The original mill in the following passage with transverse cross vault, which has retained the character of the medieval epic space, which the homeowner Ing. Elijah imprinted face and soul of ancient times. Entrance to the cellar itself is framed stone lining and leads provided with a wide neck barrel swap niches. The cellar is plastered brick arched vaults which support the massive belts of mixed masonry. Lochy side at the rear of the basement served as a refuge from stocks plundrujícími troops already in the Swedish invasions in Moravia. Contemporary copy of the original winery building from the 19th The century Pit No. 7 hidden spaces rugged rock basement. Press shop is narrow and small, brick stairs leading to the brick předsklepí, from which descends into the labyrinth of interconnected caves. Wine is a valuable object in the ground floor of a listed building in the street No 22 Koněvova The old mill is a rectangular box with four vaulted arches and cross-linked habánským cellar.

Things to do - Goat Tower

Picturesque and winding passages in the limestone rock for storing wines are first mentioned in the 18th century. Building a small castle vaults beneath the Goat continued in subsequent years, testament to their owners are bricks with Jewish motifs and monograms found in German cellars editing. One of the original rock cellars is reverently restored cellar Mr. Cermak. Beautiful and mysterious spaces of the local cellars, unfortunately, mostly covering nestylové mill in the second half of last century. The modern mill in the cellar of the building ground Ladislav Solaříka. Recovering buried basement rocks started blasting in 1957 and lasted five years cutting, drilling and balancing stone and weighed. Úmorným struggle with the limestone massif mill was irregular floor plan and a cellar with a few passages, which at the highest point reaches a height of five meters. Probably before the end of 18 century began to build houses and wine cellars in the street today Stone line. At the time of origin of wine on a slope under construction Turold can suggest a solution by building facade. The oldest ground storey mill and the cellars are formed on the first turn of the 18th and 19 century, part of the colony's new line and cellars. In the other colonies in the cellar - street Ibsen and Zlámalová - alternating deep cellars with natural decaying facade of a traditional wine morphology and new buildings.

Where you can taste wine

Vinařské centrum Mikulov– tel. 519 510 368, www.wiem.cz

Vinařství Kosek– tel. 731 458 753, www.vinarstvikosek.cz

Vinařství Marcus & Co. – tel. 775 330 620, www.vinarskydum.cz

Vinařství Rodu Pazderků – tel. 602 567 640, www.dionysos.breclavsko.com

Vinařství Turold Mikulov, s.r.o. – tel. 777 134 245, www.turold-mikulov.cz

Viný sklep Eliška – tel. 519 513 073, www.hoteleliska.cz

Vinný Sklep Pod Kozím hrádkem – tel. 519 511 736, 721 743 342

Vinný sklep U Maršálka– tel. 606 365 748, www.vinosimak.cz

Josef Čermák – tel.721 179 572

Víno Mikulov, Vinoteka Svatého Urbana – Piaristů 2, tel.519 951 011,

www.vinomikulov.cz

Hotel Templ – tel.519 323 095, www.templ.cz

The festivities associated with wine

Podpálaví Wine Exhibition (April)

Exhibition of Champions (exhibition wines awarded the title of Champion; May)

Trojfestival "Neighbours" (exhibition of wines, August)

Wine Exhibition Mikulov wine region (September)

Palava Festival (September)

The Golden Grape southern Moravia (September)

Rite Wines (November)
 
Tato stránka využívá cookies. Kliknutím na „Rozumím“ souhlasíte s pravidly ochrany osobních údajů.

© 1996 - 2022 Nadace Partnerství. Všechna práva vyhrazena.

Design Zbyšek Podhrázský. Web by Kentico CMS.